Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Miserable!

So, here I sit, 8 days after surgery.  I can't help but wonder why I did this.  The doc had told me we could do PT for six weeks and rehab the knee but it would continue happening.  That was before we found out I had no ACL.  I had a choice, sorta.  I could have done PT for 6 weeks a couple of times a year or I could get it fixed.  I chose to get it fixed.  Every day since has been miserable.  The pain has gone away for the most part, it only hurts if I move the wrong way.  I'm not really "uncomfortable".  More bored, lonely, hungry.  I still can't move around very well.  I have a brace from my thigh to my ankle on my left leg.  It's heavy.  It's hard to move around.  I get tired easily.  It's all I can do to get up on my crutches and walk to the next room and back.  I am tired of sitting in the same chair every day doing nothing.  I'm doing everything the doctor told me to do.  I do my exercises.  I walk around a little while I can or need to and that's it.  I haven't even stuck my head out of my house since September 20 (today is the 28th).  I have no one to talk to.  The kids are both busy.  They were here every day the first few days but now, not so much.  Mom and Dad come over every other day or so to visit but it's not like having a "friend" to visit with.  I get a text every day from at least one friend.  I talk to Robin every day.  It doesn't take away the loneliness and the boredom.  And hungry?  OMG yes!  Julie was very sweet and filled my freezer, fridge and pantry the day before my surgery.  The problem is I can't move around well enough to cook it and then eat it.  I can't move it from the freezer/fridge/panty to the microwave without putting it in some kind of bag and hanging it around my neck.  That throws me off balance every time I try.  In the last 8 days, unless someone has brought me a meal, I've eaten nothing but dry cereal.  Oh, and today I ate a bag of stale pretzels.  The one time I did warm a meal I dropped it when I tried to get it out of the microwave.  I had to, I couldn't hold onto it AND steady myself with my crutches.  It's so frustrating.  The upside of it is that I am losing weight.  I should get stronger as the days go by.  Some of the boredom and loneliness will go away when Robin comes home.  Until then I'll do what I do every day/night.  I'll get up, eat my dry cereal out of a box, hope someone drops by with food.  Then about 9:00 at night I'll get in bed, take my meds, watch TV for a few hours and try to sleep.